/( Health Insurance Marketplace

Medicaid program names and appeals contact information

You may wish to have your appeal of your denial of Medicaid eligibility heard at your state Medicaid agency at a fair
hearing. Each state has a different time frame for filing for a fair hearing. If you want a fair hearing at your state
Medicaid agency, you must file your appeal request form in the time frame shown for your state.

To learn more about your state Medicaid appeal process, use the information below to contact the state directly.

Alabama: Alabama Medicaid
Agency name: Alabama Medicaid Agency - Medicaid Appeals
You have 60 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance (toll free number): 1-800-362-1504, TTY: 1-800-253-0799
Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
State agency website: www.medicaid.alabama.gov

Arkansas: Arkansas Medicaid
Agency name: Arkansas Department of Human Services, Appeals and Hearing Unit
You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance: 501-682-8622; TTD: 1-800-285-1131
Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
State agency website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us/

Idaho: Idaho Medicaid Program
Agency name: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare - Fair Hearing Requests
You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance (toll free): 1-877-456-1233; TTY: 1-800-368-6185
Language access hotline: 1-866-262-8640
Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
State agency website: www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov

Louisiana: Bayou Health
Agency name: Louisiana Division of Administrative Law (DAL)
You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance: 225-342-5800 (automated line)
Language access hotline: 225-342-0443
Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
State agency website: www.adminlaw.state.la.us




Montana: Montana Medicaid

Agency name: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Human and Community
Services Division

You have 90 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance (toll free): 1-888-706-1535; TTY: 1-406-444-2590 (or 711)

Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

State agency website: www.dphhs.mt.gov

New Jersey: NJ FamilyCare
Agency name: Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services Fair Hearing Unit

You have 20 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance: 609-588-2655

Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
State agency website: http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmahs/home/index.html

Tennessee: TennCare
Agency name: Family Assistance Service Center

You have 40 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance (toll free): 1-866-311-4287
Hours of operation: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST

State agency website: http://www.tn.gov/tenncare/meme-eligibappeal.shtml

West Virginia: Medicaid

Agency name: West Virginia Department Health Human Resources, Bureau for Children and Families,
Customer Service Reporting Center

You have 90 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance (toll free): 1-877-716-1212; TTY: 711 (WV Relay)

Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

State agency website: https://www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/change_center/asp/

Wyoming: Medicaid
Agency name: Department of Health

You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing.
Hotline for assistance: 855-294-2127; TTY: 855-329-5204
Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.

State agency website: http://www.health.wyo.gov/healthcarefin/equalitycare/index.html
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