Medicaid program names and appeals contact information

You may wish to have your appeal of your denial of Medicaid eligibility heard at your state Medicaid agency at a fair hearing. Each state has a different time frame for filing for a fair hearing. If you want a fair hearing at your state Medicaid agency, you must file your appeal request form in the time frame shown for your state.

To learn more about your state Medicaid appeal process, use the information below to contact the state directly.

Alabama:

Agency name: Alabama Medicaid Agency; Appeals Office Medicaid program name: Alabama Medicaid CHIP program name: Alabama All Kids You have 60 days from the date your Eligibility Determination Notice was mailed to file for a fair hearing. Hotline for assistance: 1-800-362-1504; TTY: 1-800-253-0799 Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Central Time (CT) State agency website: www.medicaid.alabama.gov

Alaska:

Agency name: Office of Administrative Hearings Medicaid program name: Alaska Division of Public Assistance CHIP program name: Alaska Division of Public Assistance You have 30 days from the date of your Medicaid notice to request an appeal. Hotline for assistance: 1-907-465-1886 Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. State agency website: www.doa.alaska.gov/oah/

Arkansas:

Agency name: Arkansas Department of Human Services; OPLS Office of Appeals and Hearings Medicaid program name: Arkansas Department of Human Services -- Medicaid CHIP program name: Arkansas Department of Human Services The Appeals and Hearings Section must receive the appeal request no later than 30 days from the next business day after the postmark date on the adverse decision written notice. Hotline for assistance: 1-800-482-5431; TTD: 1-800-285-1131 x 26789 Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. CT State agency website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us/

Louisiana:

Agency name: Louisiana Division of Administrative Law (DAL) Medicaid program name: Healthy Louisiana CHIP program name: LaCHIP You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing. Hotline for assistance: 1-225-342-5800 (automated line); TTY: 1-225-342-0443 Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CT State agency website: www.medicaid.dhh.louisiana.gov/

Montana:

Agency name: Department of Public Health and Human Services; Office of Fair Hearings Medicaid program name: Montana Medicaid CHIP program name: Healthy Montana Kids Your fair hearing request must be received by the department within 90 days from the date of mailing of your Eligibility Determination Notice. Hotline for assistance: 1-406-444-2470 ; TTY: 1-406-444-2590

Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:45 p.m. Mountain Time (MT)

State agency website: http://dphhs.mt.gov/MontanaHealthcarePrograms/Welcome/MemberServices

New Jersey:

Agency name: Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services; Fair Hearing Unit Medicaid program name: NJ FamilyCare, Division of Medical Assistance & Health Services CHIP program name: NJ FamilyCare, Division of Medical Assistance & Health Services You have 20 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing. Hotline for assistance: 609-588-2655; TTY 1-800-701-0720 Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time (ET) State agency website: www.nj.gov/humanservices/dmahs/clients/medicaid/

Tennessee:

Agency name: Department of Health Services; Family Assistance Service Center Medicaid program name: TennCare CHIP program name: CoverKids You have 30 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing. Hotline for assistance: 1-855-259-0701; TTY/TTD: 1-800-848-0298 Hours of operation: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CT State agency website: www.tn.gov/tenncare/

West Virginia:

Agency name: WVDHHR Office of Inspector General, Board of Review Medicaid program name: Medicaid CHIP program name: CHIP You have 90 days from the date of your Eligibility Determination Notice to file for a fair hearing. Hotline for assistance: 1-304-558-0955 ; TTY: 711 (WV Relay) Hours of operation: Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET State agency website: www.wvdhhr.org/bcf/family_assistance/medicaid.asp

Wyoming:

Agency name: Wyoming Department of Health; Office of Administrative Hearings

Medicaid program name: Wyoming Medicaid

CHIP program name: Kid Care CHIP

You have 30 days from receipt of your Eligibility Determination Notice to **mail or personally deliver** your fair hearing request.

Hotline for assistance: 1-855-294-2127; TTY: 1-855-329-5204

Hours of operation: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. MT

State agency website: http://oah.state.wy.us/