Federal Poverty Level (FPL)

A measure of income level issued annually by the Department of Health and Human Services. Federal poverty levels are used to determine your eligibility for certain programs and benefits.

(The amounts below are 2015 numbers and used for calculating eligibility for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). 2014 numbers are used to calculate eligibility for savings on private insurance plans for 2015.

  • $11,770 for individuals
  • $15,930 for a family of 2
  • $20,090 for a family of 3
  • $24,250 for a family of 4
  • $28,410 for a family of 5
  • $32,570 for a family of 6
  • $36,730 for a family of 7
  • $40,890 for a family of 8

Federal Poverty Level amounts are higher in Alaska and Hawaii.

Related content