Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Affordable Care Act (ACA)

The comprehensive health care reform law enacted in March 2010 (sometimes known as ACA, PPACA, or โ€œObamacareโ€).
The law has 3 primary goals:
  • Make affordable health insurance available to more people. The law provides consumers with subsidies (โ€œpremium tax creditsโ€) that lower costs for households with incomes between 100% and 400% of the
    • If your income is above 400% FPL, you may still qualify for a premium tax credit.
    • If your income is at or below 150% FPL, you may qualify to enroll in or change Marketplace coverage through a Special Enrollment Period.
  • Expand the Medicaid program to cover all adults with income below 138% of the FPL. (Not all states have expanded their Medicaid programs.)
  • Support innovative medical care delivery methods designed to lower the costs of health care generally.