Skip to main content

An official website of the United States government

Here's how you know

Health plan categories

Levels of plans in the Health Insurance Marketplaceยฎ: Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum. Categories (sometimes called โ€œmetal levelsโ€) are based on how you and your insurance plan split costs. Categories have nothing to do with quality of care. (โ€œCatastrophicโ€ plans are available to some people.)
For each plan category, youโ€™ll pay a different percentage of total yearly costs of your care, and your insurance company will pay the rest. Total costs include
, and out-of-pocket costs like
Each category may include several types of plans and provider networks, like health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and preferred provider organizations (PPOs).